Boys Subdistrict Basketball Tuesday games on 104.9 FM: #1 Ponca vs. #4 Hartington-Newcastle at 6 p.m. followed by #2 Hartington Cedar Catholic vs. #3 Laurel-Concord-Coleridge...98.9 FM/AM 1590 The City: #2 Wayne vs. #3 Pierce at 8 p.m.

Ellen K. Wriedt, 89

Posted: 11 September, 2012

Ellen K. Wriedt, 89, of Wakefield, Nebraska died on Saturday, September 8, 2012 at Heritage of Emerson Nursing Home in Emerson, Nebraska. Funeral services for Ellen will be held on Wednesday, September 12, 2012 at 10:30 A.M. at

Sacred Heart Catholic Church in Emerson; Fr. Gerald Leise will be officiating. The visitation will be held on Tuesday from 4:00 until 8:00 P.M. at the church in Emerson. There will be a prayer service at 7:00 P.M. on Tuesday evening. Burial will be in Calvary Cemetery in Emerson.  Bressler - Munderloh - Smith Funeral Home of Wakefield is in charge of the arrangements.Ellen was born on February 6, 1923 at Ponca, Nebraska to John and Myrtle (Roeser) Weber. She graduated from Ponca, attended Wayne State College and taught country school near Ponca. On June 11, 1947, she married Derwood Wriedt at Sacred Heart Catholic Church in Emerson. They settled into farming near Wakefield. To this union three children were born: John, Judith and James. She worked at Waldbaums, Pamida, Humpty Dumpty Day Care, the Emerson Senior Center and at the Emerson school helping children with their reading as well as helping run a farm. She loved to cook, and visit with family and friends. She belonged to the V.F.W. and the American Legion in Wakefield.
Ellen is survived by her three children: John and wife Jeannine of Allen, Nebraska; Judith Torbert of Lincoln, Nebraska and James and wife Michelle of Madison, Nebraska. She is also survived by 14 grandchildren, 17 great grandchildren and 1 great-great grandchild, her sister Betty Burmeister of Lincoln, Nebraska and a host of friends.
She was preceded in death by her husband, Derwood, her sister Margaret and her parents.

Bressler - Munderloh - Smith Funeral Home of Wakefield

National Broadcasters Association Member 2017