Wednesday, January 17 KTCH Quiz Bowl results: Wisner-Pilger defeats Newman Grove, 2-1; Fullerton defeats Leigh, 4-3.

School Board Receives Multiple Gifts

Posted: 13 November, 2012

WAYNE (KTCH/KCTY) - The Wayne Community School Board met for their regular meeting last night. Among items discussed was the approval and appointment of Lindsay McLaughlin as Executive Director of the Wayne Community Schools Foundation. The board also recognized multiple gifts received, including $2,500 from the Shopko Foundation that will be used for technology. Bill Dickey of First National Bank was also present to award $1,181 as part of the First National Bank Honor Roll Program, and the final gift was nearly $8,000 from the Kevin J. Murray Memorial donation. Cap Peterson of Northeast Nebraska Insurance was at the meeting to discuss the current insurance quote for the school district, stating that they currently have $31 million worth of coverage on approximately $34 million worth of buildings in the district. Also present at the meeting was Ed Cable to give a facility update on the completion process of the school construction project. He said that they are finishing up smaller punch list items still remaining, and should have about 90% of them done within a week. Cable also said that they plan to be completely done with the project in about two weeks. Also taking place last night was an honor coffee, recognizing the efforts of students and faculty for various reasons.

Those recognized at the honor coffee:

2012 Central Honors Institute Participants: Isaiah Longe, Ky Kenny, Callie Brown, Sarah Wibben, Breanna Kallhoff, Lucas Longe

NMEA Exemplary Music Program award:
Mr. Brad Weber, Mrs. Tracy Anderson, Mrs. Carrie Jensen, Mrs. Monica Jensen.

State Cross Country Participants:
Ben Hoskins, Angie Nelson, Cassie Heier

State Girls Golf Participant
: Marissa Wiese

National Honor Society:
Grant Anderson, Kendra Liska, Jessica Biermann, Samantha Long, Miranda Denklau, Jaci Lubberstedt, Hannah Gamble, Martha Mitiku, Megan Hoffart, Jacob Reynolds, Erica Holcomb, Jackson Roberson, Jason Holt, Tyler Robinson, Katlyn Hurlbert, Brady Soden, Ramsey Jorgensen, Rachel Waddington
Grace Kenny, Colin Webster, Emily Leeper, Dillon Wieland, Kimberly Zuniga

State Girls Softball Participants:

Maddie Morris, Hannah Gamble, McKenna Gibson, Megan Hoffart, Emily Leeper, Kendall Gamble, Sydney Harris, Jayln Zeiss, Nicole Craft, Danica Schaefer, Victoria Kranz, Lauren  Gilliland, Abbie Hix, Hannah Belt

National Anthem performance at State Volleyball –
Sarah Maxson, Dacia Dickey

National Broadcasters Association Member 2017