Thursday, January 18 KTCH Quiz Bowl: Howells-Dodge defeats Schuyler Central, 5-4; Guardian Angels Central Catholic defeats Humphrey Public, 1-0

Area Wrestlers Qualify For State

Posted: 11 February, 2013

UNDATED (KTCH/KCTY) - Saturday marked the district competitions for high school wrestlers throughout the state of Nebraska. It was a mostly favorable day for athletes in northeast Nebraska, as several area wrestlers qualified for this year’s state tournament. Wayne’s Kody Frahm will be competing at 195 pounds after taking third place at the B-2 district in Boys Town. Five Wakefield Trojans earned a trip to state. Qualifying from the C-2 district in Wisner-Pilger was Caleb Thomas, who was the district champion at 160 pounds. Nick Gonzalez was third at 120 pounds, while Irvin Escobar (113), Alvaro Sarmiento (195) and Alan Lopez (285) all finished fourth. And in the class D-2 district held at Neligh-Oakdale, Laurel-Concord/Coleridge and Winside qualified three wrestlers each. For the Bears, Austin Roach was a runner-up at 170 pounds, while Chris Heydon was third at 160 pounds and Ethan Hirschmann came in fourth at 285. And for Winside, Caleb Lienemann was the district champion at 195 pounds, while Marcos Escalera and Gatlin Jensen both finished third at 126 pounds and 220 pounds, respectively.

More area wrestlers qualifying for state include:

Pender: D-2
113- Josh Davis- 3rd
120- Mark Dunn- 1st
126- Benny Oliver-1st
132- Garret Bowder- 1st
138- Jacob Sebade- 1st
145- Tyler Thomsen- 3rd
160- Clint Conroy- 1st
182- Ben Burmester- 1st
285- Connor Albus- 3rd
Randolph: D-2
106- Shawn Thelen- 3rd
113- Jesse Schmit- 4th
182- Dylan Loberg- 2nd
195- Tyler Brunssen- 3rd

Plainview: D-2
106- Tayven Sauser- 2nd
113- Dylan Moore- 1st
120- Taylor Sauser- 4th
126- Tyan Boyer- 2nd
132- Corby Forbes- 2nd
138- Evan Aschoff- 2nd
152- Tony Steinkraus- 2nd
160- Tyson Bolling- 2nd

113- Tyler Hoffman- 4th
170- Aaron Hanlin- 2nd
195- Nate Meier- 2nd

132- Jonathan Larsen- 4th

106- Tyler Ganskow- 2nd
120- Takoda Batenhorst- 1st
126- Caleb Haskell- 2nd
132- Isaias Solorio- 2nd
138- Blake Eisenmann- 1st
152- Jacob Geauderault- 2nd
160- Hunter Randles- 3rd
170- David Huismann- 3rd
195- Trent Wagner- 1st
285- Aron Reynaga- 3rd

126- William Breitkreutz- 4th
152- Lucas Wiechman- 1st

132- Colby Wolff- 3rd
138- Jake Betzen- 4th
145- Brennan Borgmann- 3rd
195- Houston Huss- 3rd
220- Jeb Nordby- 4th

138- Scot Gubbels- 3rd
182- Randy Kruse- 3rd

Guardian Angels Central Catholic (West Point)/Scribner-Snyder:C-2
138- Brandon French- 2nd
145- Bailey Fletcher- 4th
152- Tristan Weitzenkamp- 4th

West Point-Beemer:
106- Joe Berg- 2nd
120- Hunter Schroeder- 2nd
138- Tristan Bettenhausen- 1st
160- Josue Osuna- 2nd
170- Cole Batenhorst- 3rd
182- Nicholas Petersen- 3rd
220- Javier Madrigalas- 2nd

National Broadcasters Association Member 2017