Snow Plow Alert for Wayne starting at 6pm Sunday. No parking on city streets 'til further notice.

Wayne State Women Golfers Finish Play At NSIC Championships

Posted: 22 April, 2013

SMITHVILLE, Mo. - Wayne State College shot rounds of 394 and 410 Saturday and Sunday at the Paradise Pointe Golf Club in Smithville, Missouri in the final segment of the 2012-13 Northern Sun Conference Women’s Golf Championships.  The Wildcats finished the 72-hole tournament in 13th place with a team score of 1,705 while sophomore Sarah Phinney was the top individual finisher for Wayne State College.
            Augustana College captured the team title for a fourth straight year with 1,279, finishing 61 shots ahead of second place Minnesota State at 1,340.  Concordia-St. Paul was a close third at 1,344 with Sioux Falls and Upper Iowa wrapping up the top five teams.
            Wayne State’s top scorer for all four rounds was Sarah Phinney, a sophomore from Grand Island Northwest HS, who posted scores of 104, 104, 103 and 106 for a 72-hole total of 417.  Wayne freshman Taylor Burke was next at 427 with rounds of 109, 117, 96 and 105 while Morgan Jones, a freshman from Benkelman, Nebraska, was the other Wildcat player that competed in all four rounds and had scores of 113, 124, 107 and 110 for a 454. 
            Grand Island freshman Zandria Cole had Wayne State’s top scores over the weekend with rounds of 88 and 97 while sophomore Taylor Schnell also competed in Missouri and shot rounds of 115 and 102 for the Wildcats.
            The meet concludes the 2012-13 schedule for the Wayne State College women’s golf team.
2012-13 Northern Sun Conference Championship
October 6-7, 2012 and April 20-21, 2013
The Classic at Madden’s – Brainerd, Minnesota (par 72)
Paradise Pointe Posse – Smithville, Missouri (par 72)
1.         Augustana (SD)             326-320-314-319            1279
2.         Minnesota State            365-331-314-330            1340
3.         Concordia-St. Paul         340-359-319-326            1344
4.         Sioux Falls                    365-365-327-346            1403
5.         Upper Iowa                     359-371-334-343            1407
13.        Wayne State               461-440-394-410            1705
            Sarah Phinney               104-104-103-106            417                  
            Taylor Burke                  109-117-96-105              427
            Morgan Jones               113-124-107-110            454
            Zandria Cole                 dq-95-88-97                  
            Emily Kaslon                 135-134-dnc-dnc
            Taylor Schnell               dnc-dnc-115-102

National Broadcasters Association Member 2017