Thursday, January 18 KTCH Quiz Bowl: Howells-Dodge defeats Schuyler Central, 5-4; Guardian Angels Central Catholic defeats Humphrey Public, 1-0

WSC Baseball Falls To Minnesota State In NSIC Second Round

Posted: 10 May, 2013

ST. CLOUD, MN. - #9 Minnesota State handed Wayne State a 7-0 loss Thursday evening in the NSIC/US Bank Baseball Tournament semi-finals played at Dick Putz Field in St. Cloud, Minnesota.  The Mavericks, 33-8, now face #8 seed Bemidji State Friday at 3:30 p.m. in the winner's bracket final while the sixth-seeded Wildcats, now 27-19, meet top-seeded St. Cloud State in an elimination game Friday morning at 11 a.m.
            The game was scoreless until the fifth inning when the Mavericks scored two runs.  MSU added another run in the seventh inning and scored four insurance runs in the ninth inning to make the final scored 7-0.
            Wayne State had scoring chances in the sixth and seventh innings but came up empty both times against Minnesota State starter Jason Hoppe.  In the sixth, WSC left the bases loaded without scoring.  Curtis Bussard singled, Blake Brisson walked and CJ Nolen was hit by the pitch, but Brett Keim then hit into a fielder's choice to end the scoring threat.  In the seventh, WSC put the first two batters on base as Justin Beranek walked and Kevin Andersen singled to left center field, but the scoring threat was quickly put to rest when Michael Herman hit into an inning-ending double play.
            Minnesota State had six hits in the contest to four by the Wildcats.  CJ Nolen, Justin Beranek, Curtis Bussard and Kevin Andersen each singled for Wayne State.
            Junior starter Michael Frericks (5-3) was tagged with the pitching loss, allowing just three runs on three hits over seven innings with seven strikeouts and three walks.  Senior Taylor MacDonell worked the final two innings and was charged with four runs on three hits with one walk and no strikeouts.
            Wayne State now faces #8 St. Cloud State in an elimination game at 11 a.m. Friday morning at Faber Field in St. Cloud, Minnesota.

National Broadcasters Association Member 2017