Wednesday, January 17 KTCH Quiz Bowl results: Wisner-Pilger defeats Newman Grove, 2-1; Fullerton defeats Leigh, 4-3.

WSC Lands 30 Student-Athletes On NSIC Spring All-Academic Team

Posted: 15 May, 2013

WAYNE - Wayne State College had 30 student-athletes named to the 2013 Northern Sun Conference Spring All-Academic Team announced Wednesday afternoon by the league office in Burnsville, Minnesota.
            To be eligible for the NSIC Spring All-Academic Team, a student-athlete must be a member of the varsity traveling team and have a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.20 or better. The student-athlete must also have reached sophomore academic and athletic standing at the institution represented with one full year completed at that particular institution.
            WSC baseball had 12 athletes named All-Academic followed by both men’s outdoor track and field with seven, women’s outdoor track and field had six honorees, softball four and women’s golf one.
            The following is a listing of Wayne State student-athletes named to the 2013 NSIC Spring All-Academic Team:
Baseball:                                               Luke Abkes                           Jr.            Omaha, Neb.
                                                                Kevin Andersen                   So.          Gretna, Neb.
                                                                Justin Beranek                     Sr.           Fremont, Neb.
                                                                Cris Ely                                  Jr.            Boone, Iowa
                                                                Michael Herman                  So.          Omaha, Neb.
                                                                Tyler Hohenstein                 Sr.           Dakota City, Neb.
                                                                Tadd Johansen                    Sr.           Elkhorn, Neb.
                                                                Brett Keim                             Sr.           Glenwood, Iowa
                                                                C.J. Nolen                             Jr.            Sioux City, Iowa
                                                                Trevor Reeves                      Sr.           Colorado City, Colo.
                                                                Mike Servais                         Jr.            Omaha, Neb.
                                                                Taylor Simmonds                                Jr.            Saint Albert, Alberta

Men’s Outdoor Track/Field:
             Jared Balady                        So.          Murrieta, Calif.
                                                                Nathan Boggess                  Jr.            Springfield, Neb.
                                                                Mickey Doerr                        Jr.            Bloomfield, Neb.
                                                                William Ernst                        So.          Lincoln, Neb.
                                                                Matthew Peter                      Jr.            Winside, Neb.
                                                                Zach Thomsen                     So.          Wayne, Neb.
                                                                Greg Tracy                            Jr.            Omaha, Neb.

Women’s Outdoor Track/Field:
      Stephanie Baumgart          So.          Humphrey, Neb.
                                                                Sidney Blum                         Jr.            Howells, Neb.
                                                                Rebecca Davenport            So.          Sargent, Neb.
                                                                Mackenzie Masching          Jr.            Lawton, Iowa
                                                                Megan Svitak                       So.          Howells, Neb.
                                                                Morgan Swanson                                So.          Omaha, Neb.

                                                Vicki Nielsen                        Jr.            Fremont, Neb.
                                                                Kallee Pfeiffer                      Sr.           Missouri Valley, Iowa
                                                                Sara Scheffert                      So.          Lincoln, Neb.
                                                                Kaiti Williams                       So.          Papillion, Neb.

Women’s Golf:
                                   Sarah Phinney                     So.          Grand Island, Neb.

National Broadcasters Association Member 2017