Take a look at our Events Calendar page to see what is happening around the area.

WSC Volleyball Beats Upper Iowa In Straight Sets

Posted: 19 October, 2013

FAYETTE, Iowa - Senior outside hitter Cori Hobbs had 12 kills, 15 digs and four service aces for her 13th double-double of the season Friday evening to lead the #15 Wayne State College volleyball team to a 25-10, 25-14 and 25-23 NSIC sweep at Upper Iowa.  The Wildcats move to 15-5 on the season and 6-4 in the NSIC while Upper Iowa drops to 6-13 and 2-8 in league play.
The Wildcats jumped early on the host Peacocks winning the first set handily 25-10 as WSC had 12 kills and just two attack errors for a .312 attack percentage while forcing UIU into seven attack errors with just six kills for a  -.030 attack percentage. 
Wayne State continued its strong hitting in the second set recording 13 kills with no attack errors and a .382 percentage while forcing eight more UIU attack errors to win convincingly 25-14.
The third set was much tighter as Upper Iowa battled the Wildcats.  The host Peacocks held leads of 21-19 and 22-20, but the Wildcats forced three straight UIU attack errors to grab a 23-22 lead.  Kills by Elizabeth Gebhardt and Cori Hobbs finished the set as Wayne State rallied for the 25-23 win in the third set and a 3-0 sweep of the Peacocks.
Wayne State hit .290 for the match with 35 kills and just six attack errors on 100 attacks while holding UIU to a .081 attack percentage forcing the Peacocks into 23 errors with 32 kills on 111 attacks.  Both teams had 51 digs but WSC held a 6-3 edge in blocks.
Hobbs led WSC with her 12 kills, 15 digs and four service aces while Lexi Malm and Elizabeth Gebhardt added six kills apiece.  Courtney VanGroningen had a team-high 16 digs while setter Leisa McClintock was credited with 29 set assists.  At the net, Alyssa Frauendorfer recorded five blocks with Gebhardt adding four. 
Wayne State will conclude their NSIC road trip Saturday evening with a 6 p.m. match at Winona State.

National Broadcasters Association Member 2017