College Basketball Final Results... Women-Wayne State 74, Winona State 37... Men- Wayne State 69, Winona State 67. *** Wayne High at Hartington Cedar Catholic Basketball: Girls WHS-64 HCC-46 Boys WHS-74 HCC-67

Wildcat Softball Splits In Kansas

Posted: 01 March, 2014

PITTSBURG, KS - The Wayne State softball team split a pair of non-conference games in Pittsburg, Kansas Friday afternoon as the Wildcats dropped a 7-5 8 inning contest to Pittsburg State in the first game but bounced back with a 6-1 win over Northwest Missouri State later in the day.

Pittsburg State took advantage of nine Wayne State walks and scored two runs in the top of the eighth inning to top the Wildcats 7-5 in non-conference softball played Friday afternoon at the Pittsburg State Softball Complex in Pittsburg, Kansas.  The host Gorillas are now 7-4 on the year while WSC drops to 2-3.
Pittsburg State scored two runs in the top of the first, but WSC tied the score in the bottom of the second inning on a two-out rally as Sam O’Brien hit a solo homer to right field followed by Vicki Nielsen reaching on a Pittsburg State error and later scoring on a Lexie Loos single to make the score 2-2.
Each team scored in the third inning to make the score 3-3.  Wayne State’s Kelcie Bormann belted a home run over the left field wall for the Wildcat run. 
After PSU scored in the top of the fourth to take a 4-3 lead, WSC responded with two runs in the bottom of the inning to grab a 5-4 lead.  O’Brien led off with a single and scored on a Jordan King groundout while Kaiti Williams had an infield single that scored Alyssa Schropp to put the Wildcats in front.
Pittsburg State tied the score at 5-5 with a run in the top of the fifth inning and the score remained that way until the top of the eighth inning when the Gorillas used a pair of infield singles and an intentional walk to load the bases, then took back-to-back walks to score the go-ahead runs.
Pittsburg State had 12 hits in the game to eight by the Wildcats.  Sam O’Brien went 2 for 4 with a homer and two runs scored to lead Wayne State at the plate.  Kaiti Williams was 2 for 3 while Lexie Loos finished 2 for 4.  Bormann had a solo homer while Schropp singled and scored one run to round out the Wildcat hitting attack.
Junior pitcher Sara Scheffert (2-1) suffered the pitching loss.  She pitched a complete game, firing 185 pitches.  Scheffert was charged with seven runs (six earned) on 12 hits with nine walks and three strikeouts.
Kaiti Williams and Michelle Thille combined for six of Wayne State’s eight hits and the Wildcats scored six runs in the final two innings for a 6-1 win over Northwest Missouri State Friday afternoon in non-conference softball played in Pittsburg, Kansas.  WSC evens their season record at 3-3 while the Bearcats fall to 2-6.
Northwest Missouri State scored their lone run of the game on a solo homer in the second inning for a 1-0 lead.  The score stayed that way until the top of the sixth inning when WSC scored twice for a 2-1 lead thanks to a two-out rally.  With two outs and no runners on base, Thille doubled to left field followed by a Williams homer to center field to put the ‘Cats in front.
WSC added four insurance runs in the top of the seventh on four hits to finish off Northwest Missouri State.  Melanie Alyea had a pinch-hit RBI single to score the first Wildcat run.  Lexi Loos drew a bases loaded walk for the second run followed by RBI singles from Thille and Williams producing the four Wildcat runs.
Wayne State had eight hits in the game to five for Northwest Missouri State.  Williams was 3 for 4 with a homer and three RBI’s to lead WSC followed by Thille, who was also 3 for 4 with an RBI and run scored.  Megan Hagemann and Melanie Alyea also had singles for the Wildcats.
Junior Kelcie Bormann (1-1) was the winning pitcher, working 6 1/3 innings allowing just one run on five hits with four strikeouts and no walks.
Wayne State is scheduled to play Saturday against Pittsburg State at 2 p.m. and Northwest Missouri State at 4 p.m. in Pittsburg, Kansas.

National Broadcasters Association Member 2017