Take a look at our Events Calendar page to see what is happening around the area.

Schuyler Arrests, Verdigre School Board ,ATV Death Arrest

Posted: 25 August, 2009

An ATV accident in Wisner has resulted in the death of a Minnesota man and the arrest of a Lincoln man. According to the Wisner Police Department, 36-year-old Devin Kreikemeier of Lincoln was driving the 4-wheeler east-bound on a road in Wisner River Park about 4:30 Saturday morning. The ATV's rear tire struck a hold-down rope for a tent that was set up for the Thunder By The River Tractor Pull, causing the 4-wheeler to flip over. Kreikemeier and a passenger, 48-year-old Scott Jensen of Dell Rapids, South Dakota, received only cuts and bruises. However another passenger, 34-year-old Travis Williams of Brewster, Minnesota, was pronounced dead at St. Francis Hospital in West Point. Devin Kreikemeier was arrested for driving under the influence and motor vehicle homicide. The Wisner Police Department was assisted by the Cuming County Sheriff's Department in the investigation.

An effort is under way to recall all six members of the Verdigre School Board following its approval of a nearly $4 million school bond issue last year. Voters approved the bond issue 316-284 in November, but some residents objected, accusing the board in a lawsuit of violating open-meeting laws by holding secret meetings. A judge has since dismissed the lawsuit, but the residents are appealing. Knox County Clerk Joann Fischer says recall petition signatures have been turned in for each school board member.

Four people were arrested in Schuyler Friday afternoon after reports of a firearm being discharged into a vehicle. The Nebraska state patrol reports that several law enforcement agencies including the patrols swat team responded to the call at 1613 elk street in Schuyler. A search warrant was served where two shotguns including one that was reported stolen in Columbus were recovered at the residence. Arrested were Kelly Red Tomahawk, Jose Lara, Tyson Sands and Edna Little Elk on a variety of charges.

National Broadcasters Association Member 2017